Our Staff

ITFC currently has staff with a broad expertise in forest ecology, social science, botany, zoology, resource use and monitoring, biodiversity surveys, vegetation mapping, impact assessments, community surveys, participatory approaches and conservation planning.

   Staff scientists and project staff


  • Assoc. Prof. Robert Bitariho, PhD – Director

  • Dr Dennis Babaasa, PhD-Senior Research Scientist

  • Emmanuel Akampurila (MSc ongoing)-TEAM Network Site Manager

  • Dr Medard Twinamatsiko (PhD) - Social Sciences Research Consultant

  • Dr Aventino Kasangaki (PhD)-Water Resources Research Consultant

  • Sam Ayebare (MSc)-GIS database Consultant

  • Robert Mujuni (BA)-Junior Research Officer

  • Isaac Twinomujuni (BA)-Junior Research Officer

  • Robert Barigyira – Senior Herbarium Technician

  • Prof. Douglas Sheil- Scientific technical advisor

  • Dr. Alastair McNeilage (PhD)- Technical advisor

  • Dr. Andy Plumptre (PhD)-Technical advisor



In addition, the institute employs administrative staff,15 experienced field assistants and other support staff. The institute also has research assistant volunteers to help with various projects.

Administrative staff

  • Desiderius Tibamanya – Finance & Administration Officer

  • Clemencia Akankwasa– Senior Administrative Assistant

  • Florence Tukamushaba– Secretary and Librarian

  • Vacant position-Accounts Clerk

  • Richard Ntegyerize-Driver

  • Aureliano Kabale-Driver

Field assistants

Christopher Byaruhanga, Gervasio Byaruhanga, Margaret Kobusingye, Dennis Musinguzi, Savio Ngabirano, Kaheru John, Narsis Owoyesigire, Emmanuel Tibenda, Lawrence Tumugabirwe, Philemon Tumwesigye, BedaTuryananuka, Benon Twehikire,Nkwasibwe Aventino, Rogers Tinkasimire

Steven Tushemereirwe, Zoreka Damazo, Daniel Muhangi, Valentino Sigirenda, Philemon Sande

Security guards
Felix Banyomoza, Justus Sunday

Mercy Akankunda

Honorary ITFC Research Fellows

In 2009, ITFC named Dr Phil Shaw* (University of St. Andrews) Honorary Research Fellow, in recognition for his long term commitment to the study of Stripe-Breasted Tits

In 2011, Dr Mathias Behangana (Makerere University, Kampala) accepted our offer to become ITFC's second Honorary Research Fellow. Dr. Behangana is Uganda's best herpetologist and has over 16 years experience in biodiversity research, conservation and management, climate change impacts and mitigation measures.

Picture Gallery