Our Study Sites

Mgahinga Gorilla National Park

Mgahinga Gorilla National Park  (MGNP),most famous for its exciting gorilla safari activities, is situated amongst the Virunga Mountains in the extreme southwest of Uganda, and includes sections of three of the Bufumbira volcanoes; Mt. Muhavura (4,127 m), Mt. Gahinga (3,474 m), and Mt. Sabinyo (3,645 m). The Park is about 10 km south of Kisoro and is bordered to the south by the Republic of Rwanda and to the west by the Democratic Republic of Congo.

Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, famous for gorilla trekking safaris, is a UNESCO World Heritage site occupying 331 sqkm. It is famous for its rare species which include mountain gorillas (Gorilla beringei beringei). Bwindi is a diverse natural forest area with a continuum of habitats ranging from 1190 meters to 2560 meters above sea level. The park lies within the Kigezi Highlands that were formed through up-warping of the western rift valley (“Albertine Rift” see below).

Echuya Forest Reserve

Echuya Forest Reserve is situated in Bufumbira county in Kisoro District and Rubanda county in Kabale District. The southern end runs along the north-eastern border of Rwanda. The forest lies between 1?14' - 1?21' S and 29?47' - 29?52'E, covers an area of 34 km?, and has an altitudal range of 2270 - 2570 m. It is situated on the high altitude range running between Lake Bunyonyi, 5kms to the East, and Mgahinga Gorilla National Park, 13 km to the south west. It is 11 km east of Kisoro and 15 km west of Kabale town. The main Kabale - Kisoro road passes through the northern end.

Queen Elizabeth National Park

The national park is located in western Uganda, spanning the districts of Kasese, Kamwenge, Bushenyi and Rukungiri. Its location is approximately 376 kilometres (234 mi), by road, southwest of Kampala, Uganda's capital and largest city. The town of Kasese lies just outside the northeastern edge of the park, while the town of Bushenyi, is situated just outside the park's southeastern boundaries. The coordinates of the park are:00 12S, 30 00E (Latitude:0.2000; Longitude:30.0000).

Rwenzori Mountains National Park

Rwenzori Mountains National Park is located in southwestern Uganda on the east side of the  Albertine rift valley. It is along the border with the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), just above the equator. It is also a UNESCO World Heritage Site. It is situated in the Bundibugyo, Kabarole, and Kasese districts, 25 km from the small town of Kasese. The park has area of 996 km2, 70% of which is above 2,500 m.

Semliki National Park

The Park is on flat gently undulating land on the Albertine Rift floor. Altitudinal range is 67- - 760 m. It is drained by three main streams: Nyahuka, Rwigo and Kirumia. The landscape is underlain by rocks of old lake deposits and basement complex granites. Soils are rift valley sediments, grey alluvial clay soils that tend to be alkaline and of poor fertility. The wettest months are March to May, and September to December, with average rainfall of 1250mm. Annual mean temperature ranges from 18?C minimum to 30?C maximum.


Mount Elgon National Park

Mount Elgon is a 4,321m high extinct volcano which a million years ago stood taller than Kilimanjaro does today. Although the mountain straddles the Uganda-Kenya border, its loftiest peak, Wagagai, lies within Uganda.

Mount Elgon is an important watershed, and its slopes support a rich variety of altitudinal vegetation zones ranging from montane forest to high open moorland studded with the other-worldly giant lobelia and groundsel plants.

Picture Gallery